Motor Vehicle & Driving Offense Lawyer in Manchester NH & Nashua NH
The one, two, three, and four-point offenses include violations regarding registration, vehicle inspection, sharing the road with other cars and pedestrians, and failing to signal.
One point offenses are:
- Operating without vehicle registration available in the vehicle.
- Failing to obey inspection requirements.
- Failing to obtain a New Hampshire driver's license.
Two point offenses:
- Driving an unregistered vehicle.
- Failing to produce a license when requested by a police officer.
- Failing to abide by license restrictions.
- Operating a vehicle with improper class of license.
- Failing to comply with directions from a police officer.
The three point offenses:
- Failing to obey stop and yield signs.
- Disobeying any traffic signals and or control devices.
- Following too closely.
- Driving on a sidewalk.
- Failing to yield right of way.
Four Point violations include:
- Driving without a license.
- Improper passing.
- Speeding at 25 mph or more above the posted limit.
The most you can be assessed for any single conviction of a DMV offense is six points. These are the most serious:
This list of violations in the DMV point system is not complete. There are over 50 violations that can be counted against you if you are convicted following a hearing on the offense.
Check Your Driver's License Status
To request a driving record status you must file a
request with this form and a fee to be paid to NH DMV.
Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Expect 10 days to receive your driving record within 10 days of filing the application.
Suspension of Your Driver's License
Suspension of your driver's license, from three months to one year, is a direct result of the DMV Demerit Point System. How many points can you accumulate before suspension? It depends on your age. There are three age categories:
Drivers under the age of 18
- Six points in one calendar year: three months suspension.
- 12 points in two consecutive years: up to six months suspension.
- 18 points in three consecutive calendar years: up to one year suspension.
Drivers 18, 19, or 20
- Nine points in one calendar year: up to three months suspension.
- 15 points in two consecutive calendar years: up to six months suspension.
- 21 points in three consecutive calendar years: up to one year suspension.
Drivers age 21 and older
- 12 points in one calendar year: up to three months suspension.
- 18 points in two consecutive calendar years: up to six months suspension.
- 24 points in three consecutive calendar years: up to one year suspension.
Costs of License Suspension
Once you have exceeded your points limit and lose your license, the penalty goes beyond fines and licensing fees. It is common for auto insurance rates to increase after suspension.
There are other costly problems that creep up when your license is suspended. New Hampshire does not have a hardship or work exception so you can drive to school or work. The inconvenience and burden on others will also affect you and your family. The cost of license lost goes far beyond getting fined.
Having a driver's license is a privilege and you will be glad for taking the responsibility seriously.
Your license has been under suspension in another state and now you are applying for a New Hampshire driver’s license the suspension must be cleared so that you’re out of state license is valid before you are able to get a New Hampshire driver's license.
Call today for a free consultation. 603-434-4106
E-mail me at firstname.lastname@example.org
AREAS OF PRACTICE
- DWI / DUI LAWS IN NH
- DRUG DEFENSE IN NH
- SEX OFFENCES
- DOMESTIC ASSAULT
- JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
- VIOLENT CRIMES
- MOTOR VEHICLE OFFENSES
- HABITUAL OFFENDER
- ALS HEARINGS NH
- AGGRAVATED DWI
- DRUG POSSESSION IN MA
- DUI / DWI BREATH TEST
- DWI/OUI LAWS IN MA
- FIELD SOBRIETY TEST IN NH
- SR-22 INSURANCE LAWS IN NH